Book Events, Book Review, Book Tour

Real Pigeons Fight Crime by Andrew McDonald – Middle Grade Book Review and Giveaway

Welcome to the Real Pigeons Fight Crime blog tour hosted by Rock Star Book Tours!

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

What I Loved: The illustrations in this book were AWESOME! They were fun and quirky, and really made me just want to look at each one!

How I Felt: Real Pigeons Fight Crime was just a ton of fun to read! I read this book and also had my 8 year old son read it. We both agreed it was a 5 star read! The pages fairly illustration-heavy making this a great book for a young reader just starting chapter books, but it’s also great for a higher level reader as well!

The story was fast-paced and hilarious. Real Pigeons Fight Crime is broken into three segments of mysteries that all flowed together really well. The story was easy to follow for a child and so much fun to read!

To Read or Not To Read: This is an awesome book for a middle to late elementary reader and up! With fun characters and a hilarious plot, adults and kids alike will really love it!

Where to Find This Book:
Goodreads | Amazon | Kindle | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | TBD

Ever wonder why pigeons act so weird?

Because they are secretly chasing bad guys and flying around saving your butt!

This hilarious illustrated series is perfect for fans of BAD GUYS and DOG MAN. What do REAL PIGEONS do? They fight crime, of course! Wait, what? You didn’t know your town is protected by a secret squad of crime-fighting feathered friends? Well, you are about to get schooled.

REAL PIGEONS solve mysteries! REAL PIGEONS fight bad guys! And REAL PIGEONS won’t stop until your neighborhood is safe and the questions are all answered: Like, why have all the breadcrumbs disappeared? And which food truck smells the best?

  • Real Pigeons Fight Crime by Andrew McDonald
  • Illustrated by Ben Wood
  • Series: Real Pigeons Fight Crime book 1
  • Page Count: 208
  • Target Audience: Middle Grade
  • Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
  • Pub Date: January 7, 2020

Andrew McDonald is a reader and writer of books for young readers.

His brand new series REAL PIGEONS debuts in 2018, with hilarious illustrations by Ben Wood.

His first children’s novel, The Greatest Blogger in the World featured the story of Charlie Ridge, a young blogger navigating family, friends and the perils of internet life.

His second novel Son of Death, a black comedy about a family of modern grim reapers, was named by The Age as one of the ‘best books of the year’ in 2015.

He is also the creator of a blog post about ‘camera loss’ that somehow went viral and he wasn’t embarrassed enough to decline an invitation to be a Cleo Bachelor in 2011.

Andrew is an avid reader of children’s and YA literature. He has worked for Readings bookshop in Melbourne and at the flagship Foyles bookshop on Charing Cross Road in London, where he was thrilled to put his knowledge to work as a children’s bookseller. He has previously judged the Young Adult category of the Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards and the Centre for Youth Literature’s Inky Awards.

Andrew is a graduate of RMIT’s Professional Writing and Editing diploma and his writing has taken him around the world. He completed an artist residency at Caldera Arts in Oregon, USA and a May Gibbs Children’s Literature Trust fellowship in Adelaide.

He is a regular presenter on the schools circuit in Australia, conducting writing workshops; talking about his writing life; and sharing the stories and experiences behind his books. Enquire about booking Andrew for your school here.


About the Illustrator:

Ben Wood is a children’s illustrator based in Victoria, Australia. He has been commissioned to work with clients such as Hardie Grant Egmont, Penguin Random House, and Scholastic Australia.

Ben is able to offer clients a wealth of illustration styles and techniques in both digital and traditional mediums. Recent publications include ‘Blast Off!‘ by Shelly Unwin and the Squishy Taylor series, by Ailsa Wild. He is currently illustrating the Real Pigeons series by Andrew McDonald. “It’s super coo!”

Ben also runs presentations or workshops in schools, public libraries and bookstores. His sessions can vary from small to large groups, depending on what suits best. He is more than happy to work with Prep-Year 9 students, and adults too. Please contact Booked Out Speakers Agency to enquire about a booking.

Enter to win one of three finished copies of Real Pigeons Fight Crime. Available for US residents only.

Sign up for the giveaway here!

Are you enjoying this tour? You can check out more posts by these bloggers!

1/13/2020 Popthebutterfly Reads Review

1/14/2020 Twirling Book Princess Excerpt

1/15/2020 Fictitiouswonderland Review

1/16/2020 Not In Jersey Review

1/17/2020 She Just Loves Books Review


I was provided an advanced reader’s copy of this book for free. I am leaving my honest, unbiased review voluntarily.

All Amazon links are affiliate links.

#shejustlovesbooks #bookblog #bookreview #realpigeonsfightcrime #rockstarbooktours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s