A Top 2020 Read: Wildland by Rebecca Hodge – Book Review

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

What I Loved:

I am unable to say the right words to express to you just how much I loved this book. The author’s ability to utterly hypnotize me with her words was wonderful. I was 100% invested in Wildland and could not put it down. What an excellent job Rebecca Hodge has done with this book!

How I Felt:

I will say that I wasn’t quite sure what I was getting myself into when I started this book. I, again, loved the cover and didn’t really know what the book was about. It was an intense ride of emotions and I loved every minute of it!

The Characters: The main character, Kat, just grew on me so fast. I understood her situation and empathized with her need to figure out her next steps in life. As Kat struggles with her re-emerging breast cancer, she is unsure if she wants to with-go another round of treatment and decides to take some time in the mountains to decide. Her character growth was so wonderful. I do say that a lot, and looking back, I always mean it, but in this case, it’s doubly true. Her decisions throughout the story paralleled her need to decide on treatment, and the changes she undergoes from start to finish were amazing.

The Writing: Rebecca Hodge can sure tell a story. I went through so many emotions while reading Wildland! She was able to introduce the characters and provide backstory while keeping me fully invested in the current story. Once the fire was introduced, this book took off and did not stop. The action from her perspective, running from the fire with two young children and two dogs, was heart-stopping, and truly had me on the edge of my seat. The perspective would then shift to the two fathers separated from the children by fire and trying desperately to find and save them. The choice of showing the reader both perspectives was excellent. I enjoyed seeing what was happening in the fire and what was happening outside of it.

Content Warnings: Breast cancer, child endangerment, animal endangerment, entrapment in fire.

Overall: Wildland is such a well-written and exciting story. It brought out a variety of emotions for me, going from sadness to laughing, then fear and concern. I could not put this book down and I know it’s a top 2020 read for me!

To Read or Not To Read:

I would recommend Wildland for readers that enjoy action/adventure with a strong female lead that must take charge of a situation.

Where to Find This Book:

Wildland by Rebecca Hodge is available at these sites.

Amazon Kindle | Amazon | Goodreads

For fans of Jodi Picoult and Anita Shreve comes an exhilarating debut novel of one woman’s courage in the face of catastrophe.

She’ll do anything to save them.
But what will she do to save herself?

When Kat Jamison retreats to the Blue Ridge Mountains, she’s counting on peace and solitude to help her make a difficult decision. Her breast cancer has returned, but after the death of her husband, her will to fight is dampened. Now she has a choice to make: face yet another round of chemotherapy or surrender gracefully.

Self-reflection quickly proves impossible as her getaway is complicated by a pair of abandoned dogs and two friendly children staying nearby, Lily and Nirav. In no time at all, Kat’s quiet seclusion is invaded by the happy confusion of children and pets.

But when lightning ignites a deadly wildfire, Kat’s cabin is cut off from the rest of the camp, separating Lily and Nirav from their parents. Left with no choice, Kat, the children, and the dogs must flee on foot through the drought-stricken forest, away from the ravenous flames. As a frantic rescue mission is launched below the fire line, Kat drives the party deeper into the mountains, determined to save four innocent lives. But when the moment comes to save her own, Kat will have to decide just how hard she’s willing to fight to survive–and what’s worth living for.

A heart-pounding novel of bravery, sacrifice, and self-discovery, Wildland will keep you on the edge of your seat to the very last page.

Just the Facts:

  • Wildland by Rebecca Hodge
  • Genre: General Fiction
  • Page Count: 336 pages
  • Publisher:  Crooked Lane Books
  • Pub Date: February 11, 2020
Advertisements

I was provided an advanced reader’s copy of this book for free. I am leaving my honest, unbiased review voluntarily.

All Amazon links are affiliate links.

#shejustlovesbooks #bookreview #bookblog #generalfiction #wildland #crookedlanebooks #wildland #netgalley

3 thoughts on “A Top 2020 Read: Wildland by Rebecca Hodge – Book Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s