Dog Town by Debbie L Richardson

Rating: 4 out of 5.

What I Loved:

The world that Debbie L Richardson built for Dog Town was adorable! I loved the separation of the big dogs and the little dogs into two different parts of town: Big Rover and Little Rover. There are dog laws that must be followed and rules that, while not laws, are obeyed just the same. It was easy to drop right into this world and enjoy the story.

How I Felt:

The characters are so easy to love. Harry, a Little Rover resident, is the main character and is a good boy who follows Dog Law…well mostly. He loves running and enters the little dog races all the time. When he wins, he secretly leads a group of dogs into Big Rover, which is against Dog Law. So, maybe, there’s one or two laws he likes to break 😃 Harry’s group of friends, Junior and Fleabag are great sidekicks for him, each offering a different personality that makes them an adorable trio.

The story starts with Harry’s disturbing dream. Cats are leading him to a tunnel. Harry wakes up distraught. Cats are extinct and it bothers him to be having this crazy dream. By morning, he’s ready to leave the dream behind and start a race, and after winning, he leads his little gang into Big Rover territory. Unfortunately, they get caught by Grizzly, a Big Rover dog. Harry’s friends manage to escape, but Harry doesn’t. He overhears the big dogs talking about something they are looking for. As Harry sneaks away, he stumbles across the very thing the big dogs are looking for. An underground tunnel to…Cat World. Harry feels the need to protect the cats and keep their world a secret so they will stay safe from the big dogs, but the cats are protecting secrets of their own!

What a fun and exciting story Dog Town was! Filled with lovable characters and bad guys to save the world from, it’s perfect for middle-grade readers. The plot has lessons that can apply to real-life while using a story that is all fantasy. The writing was good and created a world and story that were easy to follow and understand.

To Read or Not To Read:

I would recommend Dog Town to middle-grade readers that enjoy animal stories filled with adventure and friendship.

Where to Find This Book:

Dog Town by Debbie L Richardson is available at these sites.

Amazon | Goodreads | Barnes and Noble | Smashwords | Kobo

Advertisements

“Dog Town” is an adventure story, filled with wonderful animal characters. Suitable for fans of “Wind in the Willows” and “Watership Down”.

Harry loves to race around the streets of Dog Town. When he stumbles upon the lost city of cats, he finds himself in a race against Dog Town’s fastest canine, Grizzly. The winner of this race will have the power to save Cat World, or destroy it.

Harry wants to win, but there is one small problem. The race is in the ocean, and Harry is terribly afraid of water.

Can Harry overcome his fear of the water and save Cat Town?

With its anthropomorphized characters, “Dog Town” is an ideal book for parents, teachers, or students to read out loud in class, on stage, or at home.

Please note this book is set in Australia and written in English (Australian).

  • Dog Town by Debbie L Richardson
  • Genre: Middle Grade Fiction
  • Page Count: 268 pages
  • Publisher: Self-Published
  • Pub Date: March 12, 2020

Debbie Richardson has published fiction novels as D L Richardson. She has published three young adults supernatural fiction novels, and science fiction and supernatural thrillers for adults. This is her first children’s book.

She was born in Dublin, Ireland and grew up in Australia. It was always crowded and noisy in the family home. At one stage there were also three dogs, a cat, a budgie, and three mice living with seven people the same house.

Debbie learned to find a quiet space within books.

She now lives in the south coast of New South Wales with her husband and a small dog named Teeka.

Advertisements

I was provided an advanced reader’s copy of this book for free. I am leaving my review voluntarily.

All adult book reviews
All children’s book reviews

4 thoughts on “Dog Town by Debbie L Richardson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s