Bedtime Bonnet by Nancy Amanda Redd

Rating: 5 out of 5.

What I Loved:

I loved the family in this story. They were playful and fun, and they obviously loved each other. It was a beautiful representation of a family and their bedtime routine, and my daughter and I loved it!

How I Felt:

The characters were so fun and vibrant in Bedtime Bonnet. The grandfather is playful, the mother is kind, and the entire family gives off such a loving vibe. I just enjoyed reading a story about characters that were so clearly bonded together.

The illustrations were beautiful. They were filled with bright colors and a variety of interesting details that had my daughter and I taking a few extra minutes to enjoy the art.

The story provided a look into one family’s bedtime hair routines. We learn about each family member’s different actions before bed. Grandma and her hair rollers, sister brushes her hair, and brother twists his locks. The little girl gets her hair brushed, but then can’t find her bedtime bonnet! The entire family helps her search, but in the end, the real question wasn’t where it was, but who was wearing it. It was a delightful way to end the book, on a silly, happy high-note.

I really liked that we got a chance to see what each family wears on their head for bed. I enjoyed the different types of headpieces that are used, and my daughter really enjoyed talking about each one separately!

Overall: This was an adorable story of family and routine. It offered insight into a different bedtime from our own, and my daughter really enjoyed that!

To Read or Not To Read:

I would recommend Bedtime Bonnet to any child. It is perfect for pre-k through early elementary. Each page only has only a few sentences, so it keeps a young reader’s attention. We’ll be reading this a lot for bedtime in the future!

Where to Find This Book:

Bedtime Bonnet by Nancy Amanda Redd is available at these sites.

Amazon Kindle | Amazon | Goodreads

Advertisements

This joyous and loving celebration of family is the first-ever picture book to highlight Black nighttime hair traditions–and is perfect for every little girl who knows what it’s like to lose her bonnet just before bedtime.

In my family, when the sun goes down, our hair goes up!
My brother slips a durag over his locs.
Sis swirls her hair in a wrap around her head.
Daddy covers his black waves with a cap.
Mama gathers her corkscrew curls in a scarf.
I always wear a bonnet over my braids, but tonight I can’t find it anywhere!

Bedtime Bonnet gives readers a heartwarming peek into quintessential Black nighttime hair traditions and celebrates the love between all the members of this close-knit, multi-generational family.

Perfect for readers of Hair Love and Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut

Just the Facts:

Bedtime Bonnet by Nancy Amanda Redd
Genre: Children’s Picture Book
Page Count: 40 pages
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
Pub Date: April 7, 2020

Advertisements

I was provided an advanced reader’s copy of this book for free. I am leaving my review voluntarily.

View all adult book reviews
View all children’s book reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s