The Haunting of Beatrix Greene by Rachel Hawkins, Ash Parsons, Vicky Alvear Shecter

Rating: 5 out of 5.

This was quite the spooky, atmospheric read for October! I’m so happy I picked this one up! Along with the creepy storyline, it’s a quick read, so I felt like we jumped right into the scary stuff, which made it quite a fun read!

Beatrix Greene is the kind of spiritual medium that doesn’t actually believe in ghosts, nor does she actually connect with the other side. Instead, she feels that she can read people well, and provide them with what they want to hear to feel consoled about their loss. When James propositions her to spend one night in Ashbury Manor to decide if there is or is not a ghost, she agrees, knowing that he is setting her up to expose her as a fraud. James though seems to have other motives for the request of her assistance, and as they enter the house, they will soon realize that they have made a terrible mistake.

I thought the writing of this story was perfect. There was a dark, gory history of the location, and the details and descriptions brought the right amount of spine-tingles for me!

The characters were full of interesting quirks and personalities. Some have secrets, while others are exactly who they seem to be. I liked Beatrix and James’ connection to each other. Both are struggling to keep something from the other but finding that their secrets may not be able to stay hidden.

This was definitely a horror story, there are gory details, and creepy, evil things happening. It was likely my spookiest read this year. I would have liked it to be a bit longer just because I was so interested in the story, and I wanted to see more of the characters.

Overall, I really enjoyed this one! It’s spooky and filled with creepy details and happenings that kept me turning the pages as fast as possible so I could find out what was happening!

To Read or Not To Read:

I would recommend The Haunting of Beatrix Greene to readers that enjoy a solid ghost story with pretty creepy things happening!

Where to Find This Book:

The Haunting of Beatrix Greene is available at these sites.

Amazon ~ Goodreads

Advertisements

Beatrix Greene has made a name for herself in Victorian England as a reputable spiritual medium, but she’s a fraud: even she knows ghosts aren’t real. But when she’s offered a lucrative job by James Walker—a scientist notorious for discrediting pretenders like her—Beatrix takes the risk of a lifetime. If her séance at the infamously haunted Ashbury Manor fools him, she will finally have true financial freedom. If she fails, her secret will become her public shame.

But James has his own dark secrets, and he believes only a true medium can put them to rest. When Beatrix’s séance awakens her real gift—and with it, a vengeful spirit—James finds that the answers he seeks are more dangerous than he could have imagined. Together, with a group of supernatural sleuths, Beatrix and James race to settle the ghost’s unrest before it strikes— or else they might not make it out of the haunted manor alive.

New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins, along with Ash Parsons and Vicky Alvear Shecter, weaves darkness, death, and a hint of desire into this suspenseful mystery for fans of Sherlock Holmes and Crimson Peak.

Just the Facts:

The Haunting of Beatrix Greene by Rachel Hawkins, Ash Parsons, Vicky Alvear Shecter
Genre: Horror
Page Count: 198 pages
Publisher: Serial Box
Pub Date: October 28, 2020

Advertisements

I was provided an advanced reader’s copy of this book for free. I am leaving my review voluntarily.

View all adult book reviews
View all children’s book reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s