Secrets of the Starcrossed by Clara O’Connor

Rating: 3 out of 5.

I feel like this book was a bit of a mixed bag. I was interested, and I didn’t ever just stop reading this book, but I also kept going back to the synopsis trying to see what it was that I was looking forward to. That Panem callout in the synopsis kept me going. It did feel a little like Panem from the controlling aspect, but I don’t think that’s enough of a connection to use that city.

The world is like ours, but with changes to history. I was really confused in the beginning. They reference historical British royalty family bloodlines, but their histories are changed, so just know going in that any history you know won’t match with this version.

I didn’t really enjoy the romance between Dev and Cass. It felt fast and forced. I did like her fiance, LOL, which I can’t decide if I was supposed to or not.

Things I did like:

  • Dystopian atmosphere with a controlling government.
  • Cass’s inner thoughts. I enjoyed her toiling with the need to be the perfect citizen.
  • The narrator did a great job with this book. I think she had a compelling voice that pulled me into the story!

Overall, I think there are a lot of readers that will really love the YA fantasy, magical aspect of this book. I think it just felt rough around the edges and could have been further developed to really be an outstanding story.

To Read or Not To Read:

I would recommend Secrets of the Starcrossed to readers that enjoy YA fantasy with magical systems and a dystopian feel.

Where to Find This Book:

Secrets of the Starcrossed by Clara O’Connor is available at these sites.

Amazon ~ Goodreads

Advertisements

In a world where the Roman Empire never fell, two starcrossed lovers fight to ignite the spark of rebellion…

Londinium, the last stronghold of the Romans left in Britannia, remains in a delicate state of peace with the ancient kingdoms that surround it. As the only daughter of a powerful merchant, Cassandra is betrothed to Marcus, the most eligible bachelor in the city.

But then she meets Devyn, the boy with the strange midnight eyes searching for a girl with magic in her blood.

A boy who will make her believe in soulmates…

When a mysterious sickness starts to leech the life from citizens with Celtic power lying dormant in their veins, the imperial council sets their schemes in motion. And so Cassandra must make a choice: the Code or Chaos, science or sorcery, Marcus or Devyn?

Panem meets the Grishaverse in this explosive new YA trilogy perfect for readers of Marie Lu, Bella Forrest, and Cassandra Clare.

Just the Facts:

Secrets of the Starcrossed by Clara O’Connor
Series: The Once and Future Queen, Book 1
Genre: YA Fantasy
Page Count: 448 
Publisher: One More Chapter
Pub Date: January 21, 2021

Advertisements

I was provided a gifted copy of this book for free. I am leaving my review voluntarily.

View all adult book reviews
View all children’s book reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s