How Lucky by Will Leitch

Book Genre Block - "General Fiction" Person holding book
"Mystery" Genre card with dark woods and light in the distance

Rating: 5 out of 5.

First of all, this book was AMAZING! Just absolutely wonderful. Leitch’s writing makes this story such a joy!

Second of all, don’t go into this thinking it’s a thriller. That will be really disappointing for you. This is a story about life and finding joy and experiences even when you have incredibility tough circumstances. There is a mystery and there are some action scenes, but I really wouldn’t put this in the thriller category.

Daniel, our MC, is a great story teller. Daniel has a disease that has taken away his speech and confined him to a wheelchair with the use of very little body parts, and yet, he’s got quite the life, which gets a bit more exciting when he witnesses the abduction of a college girl. With the help of his friend Travis, he tries to tell the police, but it doesn’t go well. When the abductor reaches out to Daniel, he starts an email conversation that could lead Daniel into dangerous territory.

I loved Daniel’s thoughts on life, and his commentary about the world. He’s got some funny quips and some deep, thought-provoking ideas. I loved it all!

I had the chance to listen to the audio of this one, and I highly recommend it! The narrator does a wonderful job!

Where to Find This Book:

Amazon ~ Goodreads

Advertisements

For readers of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and Nothing to See Here, a first novel as suspenseful and funny as it is moving, the unforgettable story of a fiercely resilient young man grappling with a physical disability, and his efforts to solve a mystery unfolding right outside his door. 

Daniel leads a rich life in the university town of Athens, Georgia.  He’s got a couple close friends, a steady paycheck working for a regional airline, and of course, for a few glorious days each Fall, college football tailgates. He considers himself to be a mostly lucky guy—despite the fact that he’s suffered from a debilitating disease since he was a small child, one that has left him unable to speak or to move without a wheelchair. 

Largely confined to his home, Daniel spends the hours he’s not online communicating with irate air travelers observing his neighborhood from his front porch. One young woman passes by so frequently that spotting her out the window has almost become part of his daily routine. Until the day he’s almost sure he sees her being kidnapped. 

Just the Facts:

How Lucky by Will Leitch
Page Count: 304 pages
Publisher: Harper
Pub Date: May 11, 2021

Advertisements

I was provided a gifted copy of this book for free. I am leaving my honest review voluntarily.

All adult book reviews
All children’s book reviews

One thought on “How Lucky by Will Leitch

Leave a Reply to Gobookmart.com Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s