Beware the Mermaids by Carrie Talick

Book Genre Block - "General Fiction" Person holding book
Beware the Mermaids book cover with three girls on a dock
Book Genre Block with image of group of children

Rating: 4 out of 5.

I thought this was such a great story. A wife finds her husband cheating, and it’s clearly not the first time. She’s ready for a divorce, and she wants their sailboat. Her husband, Roger, is not interested in letting her have it though. So Nancy proposes a 125 mile race where the winner gets the boat.

I loved the way this story unfolded. It was filled with emotion and wonderful friends. The vivid writing is brought this story to life. I loved the friendships, and found myself wanting to be sitting right with these ladies.

Where to Find This Book:

Amazon ~ Goodreads

Romance, betrayal, and an epic yacht race make Carrie Talick’s debut novel perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Susan Mallery.

Hermosa Beach housewife Nancy Hadley is no pushover. So when her philandering husband, Roger, is caught in flagrante with an opportunistic widow on their racing sailboat, Nancy sticks it to him. She tells him she wants a divorce–with the sailboat, Bucephalus, part of the deal, too.

Roger would rather make Nancy’s life a living hell than give up his boat. But Nancy has other plans. After moving out of their opulent home, she and her posse of girlfriends invest in a racing boat of their own to live on, and she teaches them the fine points of sailing. Meanwhile, and unbeknownst to Nancy, a big real estate development is under way that would destroy her beloved harbor and new home. When scheming Roger returns to ask Nancy to help capture the last committee vote–held by Nancy’s old college friend–Nancy prepares for battle.

Nancy is not skittish about taking a few risks, so in a bold gambit, she makes a bet with Roger: a showdown in the thrilling Border Dash Race from Newport Harbor down to Ensenada, Mexico. The winner of the race will get everything they want.

The stage is set for the race of a lifetime–and the tantalizing possibility of new romance for Nancy–in a novel as heartwarming as it is breathlessly exciting.

Just the Facts:

Beware the Mermaids by Carrie Talick
Genre: General Fiction
Publisher: Alcove Press
Pub Date: August 10, 2021

Carrie originally cut her teeth as a writer at the age of seven on postcards to her dad. Her mom taught her how to write with heart and passion. But she’s pretty sure those postcards are where her sarcasm blossomed.

She works as a copywriter in advertising which all culminated in a Super Bowl spot in 2019 titled “Elevator” starring Jason Bateman. While advertising brings home the bacon, it does not feed the soul.

When she’s not writing her next novel, Carrie is working on perfecting a Bolognese sauce, rocking the lower third of her Peloton leaderboard, and listening to Bill Evans on vinyl with her husband. She currently lives in a coastal community in California.

Author Links:
Instagram

Advertisements

If you are loving this Suzy Approved Book Tour and want to see more, check out these other bloggers!

I was provided a gifted copy of this book for free. I am leaving my honest review voluntarily.

All adult book reviews
All children’s book reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s