The Wise Women by Gina Sorell

Book Genre Block - "General Fiction" Person holding book

Rating: 4 out of 5.

I love the title of this one. The “Wise Women” are two sisters and a mom with the last name Wise. Wendy Wise, the mom, has spent her life creating a brand for herself with her “Wise Words” through her advice column. When her daughter discovers that her husband stole her money for a company investment when she thought it went to buying her home, the three Wise women come back together to help each other.

I enjoyed that all three women had their own problems to work through, but each found a way to support the other. I alternated between the audio and the physical copy of this book. I thought the narrator did a wonderful job! Her characters’ voices were distinct, and she brought the story to life!

Where to Find This Book:

Amazon ~ Goodreads

A witty and wildly enjoyable novel, set in New York City, about two adult daughters and their meddling advice columnist mother, for readers of Meg Wolitzer, Cathleen Schine, and Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney.

Popular advice columnist Wendy Wise has been skillfully advising the women who write to her seeking help for four decades, so why are her own daughters’ lives such a mess? Clementine, the working mother of a six-year-old boy, has just discovered that she is actually renting the Queens home that she thought she owned, because her husband Steve secretly funneled their money into his flailing start-up. Meanwhile, her sister Barb has overextended herself at her architecture firm and reunited semi-unhappily with her cheating girlfriend.

When Steve goes MIA and Clementine receives an eviction notice, Wendy swoops in to save the day, even though her daughters, who are holding onto some resentments from childhood, haven’t asked for her help. But as soon as Wendy sets her sights on hunting down her rogue son-in-law, Barb and Clementine quickly discover that their mother has been hiding more than a few problems of her own.

As the three women confront the disappointments and heartaches that have accumulated between them over the years, they discover that while the future may look entirely different from the one that they’ve expected, it may be even brighter than they’d hoped.

Just the Facts:

The Wise Women by Gina Sorell
Genre: General Fiction
Publisher: Harper
Pub Date: April 5, 2022

Advertisements

I was provided a gifted copy of this book for free. I am leaving my honest review voluntarily.

All adult book reviews
All children’s book reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s