Reckless Girls by Rachel Hawkins

Person peeking through hole titled "Thriller"
"Mystery" Genre card with dark woods and light in the distance

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Well this was a delightful thriller! Lux and her boyfriend Nico end up chartering two girls to a deserted island for 2 weeks. When they get there, there meet a couple that is also visiting. The group becomes friends just enjoys partying and hanging out. Then things start to go sideways when another visitor comes to the island and people start dying.

Lux was a great MC. She was smart, and while she didn’t know what was going on, she was a suspicious of things. I liked her story, and I wanted to see her survive. The plot moved along super fast, and I flew this one! I enjoyed the twists, and while I didn’t feel super surprised by them, I liked them!

Readers that enjoy a locked-in mystery will enjoy this secluded island setting!

Where to Find This Book:

Amazon ~ Goodreads

From the ‘New York Times’ best-selling author of ‘The Wife Upstairs’ comes a deliciously wicked gothic suspense, set on an isolated Pacific island with a dark history, for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware.

When Lux McAllister and her boyfriend, Nico, are hired to sail two women to a remote island in the South Pacific, it seems like the opportunity of a lifetime. Stuck in a dead-end job in Hawaii, and longing to travel the world after a family tragedy, Lux is eager to climb on board ‘The Susannah’ and set out on an adventure. She’s also quick to bond with their passengers, college best friends Brittany and Amma. The two women say they want to travel off the beaten path. But like Lux, they may have other reasons to be seeking an escape.

Shimmering on the horizon after days at sea, Meroe Island is every bit the paradise the foursome expects, despite a mysterious history of shipwrecks, cannibalism, and even rumors of murder. But what they don’t expect is to discover another boat already anchored off Meroe’s sandy beaches. The owners of the ‘Azure Sky’, Jake and Eliza, are a true golden couple: gorgeous, laidback, and if their sleek catamaran and well-stocked bar are any indication, rich. Now a party of six, the new friends settle in to experience life on an exotic island, and the serenity of being completely off the grid. Lux hasn’t felt like she truly belonged anywhere in years, yet here on Meroe, with these fellow free spirits, she finally has a sense of peace.

But with the arrival of a skeevy stranger sailing alone in pursuit of a darker kind of good time, the balance of the group is disrupted. Soon, cracks begin to emerge: it seems that Brittany and Amma haven’t been completely honest with Lux about their pasts – and perhaps not even with each other. And though Jake and Eliza seem like the perfect pair, the rocky history of their relationship begins to resurface, and their reasons for sailing to Meroe might not be as innocent as they first appeared..

When it becomes clear that the group is even more cut off from civilization than they initially thought, it starts to feel like the island itself is closing in on them. And when one person goes missing, and another turns up dead, Lux begins to wonder if any of them are going to make it off the island alive.

Just the Facts:

Reckless Girls by Rachel Hawkins
Genre: Thriller
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Pub Date: January 4, 2022

Advertisements

I was provided a gifted copy of this book for free. I am leaving my honest review voluntarily.

All adult book reviews
All children’s book reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s