The Spanish Daughter by Lorena Hughes

"Historical Fiction" genre card with glasses and book photo
"Mystery" Genre card with dark woods and light in the distance

Rating: 4 out of 5.

This is a beautiful historical fiction with a female lead having to pretend to be a man in a country she is unfamiliar with and a family she is meeting for the first time. I really enjoyed how she had to worked to turn herself into a man. It was interesting to read about the issues that she came across and the things that she enjoyed.

The story was filled with a lot of secrets, a mystery to solve, and some character growth that I loved! Puri is character with a lot going against her, but she continues to persevere, and I enjoyed her story so much!

I highly recommend this for readers that enjoy a historical fiction with a mystery!

Where to Find This Book:

Amazon ~ Goodreads

Advertisements

Perfect for fans of Julia Alvarez and Silvia Moreno-Garcia, this exhilarating novel transports you to the lush tropical landscape of 1920s Ecuador, blending family drama, dangerous mystery, and the real-life history of the coastal town known as the “birthplace of cacao.”

As a child in Spain, Puri always knew her passion for chocolate was inherited from her father. But it’s not until his death that she learns of something else she’s inherited—a cocoa estate in Vinces, Ecuador, a town nicknamed “París Chiquito.” Eager to claim her birthright and filled with hope for a new life after the devastation of World War I, she and her husband Cristóbal set out across the Atlantic Ocean. But it soon becomes clear someone is angered by Puri’s claim to the estate…

When a mercenary sent to murder her aboard the ship accidentally kills Cristóbal instead, Puri dons her husband’s clothes and assumes his identity, hoping to stay safe while she searches for the truth of her father’s legacy in Ecuador. Though freed from the rules that women are expected to follow, Puri confronts other challenges at the estate—newfound siblings, hidden affairs, and her father’s dark secrets. Then there are the dangers awakened by her attraction to an enigmatic man as she tries to learn the identity of an enemy who is still at large, threatening the future she is determined to claim…

Just the Facts:

The Spanish Daughter by Lorena Hughes
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Kensington
Pub Date: December 28, 2021

Advertisements

I was provided a gifted copy of this book for free. I am leaving my review voluntarily.

All adult book reviews
All children’s book reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s