Am I Allergic to Men? by Kristen Bailey

Rating: 4 out of 5.

What a fun, moving, and heartfelt story this was! I wasn’t sure where this story was going to go, and when Lucy is hit by a bus, this went from silly and lighthearted to quite serious very quickly! Lucy is such an interesting, vibrant, hilarious person, and when she loses years of memory from the accident, her family rises up in droves to help her in any way they can. All the sisters move back into their parents’ house together to help break the memories free.

Can you imagine waking up in a 30-year-old body, but thinking you are 17? Sisters are married, relationships have been formed and lost, everything is different. As Lucy goes on a journey to figure out who she was between 17 and 30, we get to come along for the ride. It’s hilarious, but also incredibly moving. The family bonds throughout this story make you want to go give someone in your inner circle a hug. It’s filled with love and strength, and I loved it!

My only actual complaint about this one is that the cover and the title didn’t match the story (at least in my opinion). They feel very rom-com, and this is a women’s fic story through and through.

I highly recommend it!

Where to Find This Book:

Amazon ~ Goodreads

You think you’ve got it bad? I lost my memory, I’m so single I’ve basically got an allergy to men, and my own cat despises me.

‘Lucy! If you can hear me, squeeze my hand!’

That’s the first thing I hear when I wake up in hospital. Then my sister drops a bombshell: I’ve been in a coma.

It gets worse. In my head, it’s 2009 and I’m seventeen. Somehow, I need to remember the last decade…

Plan A: Track down my exes. Highlights include a one-night stand with someone in a Batman costume, and balcony sex that gave the neighbours a nervous breakdown.

Plan B: Get flirty. Lowlights include a fling with someone hairier than a yeti.

Plan C: Figure out why I have more exes than underwear. Am I allergic to men?

As I piece together my past, I find a mysterious note: Oscar, 9th February. Determined to work out what it means, I uncover a secret I’ve been hiding from everyone.

When the truth comes out, will my memory return? Will I get my life back? And will I ever find the cure to my singledom?

You’ll laugh so much your abs ache! The perfect page-turner for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lindsey Kelk and TV shows like Schitt’s Creek.

Just the Facts:

Am I Allergic to Men? by Kristen Bailey
Genre: Women’s Fiction
Publisher: Bookouture
Pub Date: February 3, 2022

Advertisements

I was provided a gifted copy of this book for free. I am leaving my honest review voluntarily.

All adult book reviews
All children’s book reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s