Twice a Quinceañera by Yamile Saied Méndez

Book Genre Tag "Romance": A couple kissing
Book Genre Block - "General Fiction" Person holding book

Rating: 4 out of 5.

This was such a lighthearted story, and it just made me feel happy! When a wedding falls apart, but everything is booked…why not throw yourself a Double Quinceañera!

This had a nice mix of rom-com and women’s fiction, which is something that I am continuing to love more and more! This definitely a love interest, and it’s a bit of a second-chance, but this also has the storyline of the growth and changes that our MC goes through. Nadia has a lot of family pressure and expectation, and it’s a really high bar to reach for. I felt frustrated at times for her, but I enjoyed watching the story and her inner strength grow!

I did start to feel a bit overwhelmed by the number of family members. I could have handled a few less scenes and people, but it wasn’t such an issue that it impacted my rating. Just know that there are a lot at times.

Overall, I would recommend this to readers who are looking for a story with some character struggles and growth moments and some sweet romance.

Where to Find This Book:

Amazon ~ Kindle ~ Goodreads
LibroFM – Use code lfm137076 to get one month free!

A whimsical romcom from the acclaimed author of the Reese Witherspoon YA Book Club Pick Furia, perfect for fans of The Spanish Love Deception and Josh and Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating. An accomplished young woman decides to throw herself a quinceañera (times two) for her 30th birthday after calling off her wedding, but then discovers what it really means to come into her own.

One month short of her wedding day—and her thirtieth birthday—Nadia Palacio finds herself standing up to her infuriating, cheating fiancé for the first time in . . . well, ever. But that same courage doesn’t translate to breaking the news to her Argentinian family. She’s hyperventilating before facing them when she glimpses a magazine piece about a Latina woman celebrating herself—with a second quinceañera, aka Sweet 15! And that gives Nadia a brilliant idea . . .

With a wedding venue already paid for, and family from all over the world with plane tickets, Nadia is determined to create her own happily-ever-after. Since the math adds up perfectly, she’ll celebrate her treintañera, her double quinces. As the first professional in her family, raising a glass to her achievements is the best plan she’s had in years. Until she discovers that the man in charge of the venue is none other than her college fling that became far more than a fling. And he looks even more delicious than a three-tiered cake . . .

Full of exuberant heart, Twice a Quinceañera is a pure delight for every woman who needs to be her own biggest fan—and who dreams of a second chance at first love.

Just the Facts:

Twice a Quinceañera by Yamile Saied Méndez
Genre: Romance
Publisher: Kensington Books
Pub Date: July 26, 2022

Advertisements

I was provided a gifted copy of this book for free. I am leaving my honest review voluntarily.

All adult book reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s