If We Were Giants by Dave Matthews and Clete Barrett Smith – A Book Review

Rating: 5 out of 5.

What I Loved:

The weaving of so many wonderful topics to discuss with a child made this book an utter delight! There are so many strong messages about our world, our resources, and our actions. I cannot wait for my son to read it so we can discuss it together!

Continue reading “If We Were Giants by Dave Matthews and Clete Barrett Smith – A Book Review”

Ruth Objects: The Life of Ruth Bader Ginsburg by Doreen Rappaport – A Kid’s Book Review

Rating: 5 out of 5.

What I Loved:

Wow! Can we just talk about the cover for a minute? The illustrated cover of Ruth Objects is a sneak peek of the amazing illustrations inside. This cover is so powerful, the title isn’t even on it! The artwork is doing all the work and it is perfect. What an amazing job illustrator Eric Velasquez did on this book. He doesn’t stop there with many more beautifully created images inside the cover.

How I Felt:

Ruth Objects is a biographical book on Supreme Court Judge Ruth Bader Ginsburg. The story is structured in chronological order of Ruth’s life making it an easy-to-follow story for young readers. The book is filled with quotes from Ruth and more of that amazing artwork by Eric Velasquez.

Doreen Rappaport has done an excellent job of telling Ruth’s story to a young reader. She writes about Ruth’s challenges with the loss of her mother, being a woman in the workforce, equal pay struggles, and so much more. Her achievements are not forgotten either. Becoming the second woman to ever be appointed to the United States Supreme Court is such an inspiring and amazing accomplishment. I appreciate that this book can help a young person read about someone they can look up to.

Overall, this is an impactful story of Supreme Court Judge Ruth Bader Ginsburg’s life thus-far. It is filled with wonderful quotes from Ruth and amazing illustrations to make each page worth devouring. You’ll enjoy reading this as much as your little one.

To Read or Not To Read:

This is a great book is targeted for a 6+ audience and I think that is just right. While the pages are not crammed with text, what is on each page is thought-provoking and will lead to a good discussion for a child of this age. An excellent book for schools, libraries, and the home.

Where to Find This Book:

Ruth Objects by Doreen Rappaport published on February 11, 2020. You can find the book at these places.

Amazon  | Kindle | Goodreads

Ruth Bader Ginsburg is a trailblazer. A fighter. A public servant who has dedicated her life to the pursuit of equality.

When Ruth was a young girl, her mother encouraged her to read, be independent, and stand up for what she thought was right. Ruth graduated first in her class at Cornell University and tied for top of her graduating class at Columbia Law School. But she faced prejudice as both a woman and a Jew, making it difficult to get a job. Ruth eventually found work as a law clerk, and her determination, diligence, and skill led to a distinguished career as a lawyer.

In 1993, she became the second woman ever appointed to the United States Supreme Court. As a Supreme Court justice, Ruth has inspired fierce admiration and faced fervent opposition for her judgments in high-profile cases, many of which have involved discrimination. She has been lauded for her sharp wit and boldness, even when her opinions differ from that of the majority.

As a student, teacher, lawyer, and judge, Ruth often experienced unfair treatment. But she persisted, becoming a cultural icon, championing equality in pay and opportunity. Her brilliant mind, compelling arguments, and staunch commitment to truth and justice have convinced many to stand with her, and her fight continues to this day.

This installment of the award-winning Big Words series brings a legendary figure into focus with Doreen Rappaport’s incisive prose combined with Ruth’s own words. Eric Velasquez’s dynamic illustrations infuse every scene with life in a moving tribute that will inspire young justice seekers everywhere.

  • Ruth Objects by Doreen Rappaport
  • Illustrated by Eric Velasquez
  • Series: Big Words
  • Target Reader: 6+
  • Page Count: 48 pages
  • Publisher: Disney Hyperion
  • Pub Date: February 11, 2020
Advertisements

I was provided an advanced reader’s copy of this book for free. I am leaving this honest, unbiased review voluntarily.

All Amazon links are affiliate links.

#shejustlovesbooks #bookreview #bookblog #shejustlovesbooksforkids #ruthobjects #kidslit #kidsbooks #childrensbooks #storygramtours #doreenrappaport #EricVelasquez

Scavenge the Stars by Tara Sim

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

What I Loved:

The details in this book were so much fun! I loved the caves, reefs, and ship. There are amazing and dangerous fish. It was all so detailed and really made for a beautiful picture. I would have loved to have more of this added to the book. I felt that the second half of the book had less of this in it and it was one of my favorite things.

How I Felt:

This book is a retelling of The Count of Monte Cristo, which I found interesting as that is a book I have not read yet. There is mystery and murder and adventure. The main premise is revenge that is filled with difficult choices.

The Characters represent a wide variety of our melting-pot society and I was so happy to see it. LGBTQ is well-represented here as well as people of color.

The Writing was good. It felt rushed at times and I would have liked the story to slow down just a bit so we could enjoy the moment. I appreciated Tara Sim’s descriptive writing that helped to build the story out. I hope to see more of that in book two as I really helps the reader to understand this story.

Overall, this was a fun book filled with adventure and I look forward to the second story!

Content Warnings:

This book references to child slavery and abuse, sexual assault, mention of suicide, cannibalism, parental death, child death, descriptive gore and bodily harm, and kid-napping.

To Read or Not To Read:

Readers that enjoy high-action and adventure in their fantasy books will enjoy this one!

Where To Find This Book:

Bookshop.org | Goodreads | Kindle | Amazon | Audible | Barnes & Noble | TBD| Kobo | iBooks

Revenge. It was a simple word when spoken out loud, but it was so much bigger, like the hidden city under the atoll. It was a word of fire and blood, of a knife’s whisper and the priming of a pistol.

It was a word that consumed her, filled her entire being until she knew that she could no longer be Silverfish. Silverfish’s will was to survive, to simply make it to the next day, and hopefully the day after that. But that was no longer her will.

Now it was revenge.

Captain Zharo. Kamon Mercado. Moray.

They would all pay.

When Amaya rescues a mysterious stranger from drowning, she fears her rash actions have earned her a longer sentence on the debtor ship where she’s been held captive for years. Instead, the man she saved offers her unimaginable riches and a new identity, setting Amaya on a perilous course through the coastal city-state of Moray, where old-world opulence and desperate gamblers collide.

Amaya wants one thing: revenge against the man who ruined her family and stole the life she once had. But the more entangled she becomes in this game of deception—and as her path intertwines with the son of the man she’s plotting to bring down—the more she uncovers about the truth of her past. And the more she realizes she must trust no one…

Packed with high-stakes adventure, romance, and dueling identities, this gender-swapped retelling of The Count of Monte Cristo is the first novel in an epic YA fantasy duology, perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Sabaa Tahir, and Leigh Bardugo.

  • Scavenge the Stars by Tara Sim
  • Series: Scavenge the Stars book 1
  • Page Count: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Disney Hyperion
  • Pub Date: January 7, 2020

Tara Sim is the author of SCAVENGE THE STARS (Disney-Hyperion) and the TIMEKEEPER trilogy (Sky Pony Press) and writer of all things magic. She can often be found in the wilds of the Bay Area, California.

When she’s not writing about mischievous boys in clock towers, Tara spends her time drinking tea, wrangling cats, and occasionally singing opera. Despite her bio-luminescent skin, she is half-Indian and eats way too many samosas.

Tara is represented by Victoria Marini at Irene Goodman Literary Agency.

I was provided an advanced reader’s copy of this book for free. I am leaving my honest, unbiased review voluntarily.

Full list of adult book reviews
Full list of children’s book reviews